Minutes of the AGM held July 4th, 2019, William's Den Castle Farm, Wold Hill, North Cave, HU15 2LS.



Preceded by our Top Awards Celebration, presentations taking place at 7.00pm

For the second year running, prior to the formal business of the Annual General Meeting, the District Commissioner, Linda Thelwell, introduced "The Top Awards Ceremony for Young People" to celebrate the various achievements of our members. The Chairperson of East Riding Council, Ward Councillor Pat Smith was invited to present the Awards.

The meeting opened at 19:50

Scott Millard, District Chair, opened the meeting and welcomed all those present and thanked them for their attendance, in particular Councillor Pat Smith, Chairperson of East Riding of Yorkshire Council and her Consort Ian Smith, Vice Presidents Christian Carver, Andy Eavis and his wife Lilian and Chris Halliday, Country Training Manager representing Humberside County.

- 1. In addition to the above, the meeting was attended by members of the District Scout Council, supported by 32 recorded leaders, supporters and parents.
- 2. Recorded apologies for absence were received from County Commissioner Gary McCune, County Youth Commissioner Harvey Marritt, Ian Birkinshaw County Chair, Jackie Carver and a further 5 leaders.
- 3. The minutes of 12th July 2018 Annual General Meeting were read; and approved as a correct record.

Proposed: Josh Railton Seconded: Neil Begbie

4. The Blacktoft Beacon District Scout Council Annual Report, covering the period 12th July 2018 to 5th July 2019 and the Financial Report for the period ending 31st March 2019, were reviewed and approved. The Chair thanked John Jobling, Treasurer, for his continued support and "due diligence" in preparing a very informative & "full" set of accounts.

Proposed: Lucy Carne Seconded: Neil Begbie

Scott Millard was nominated by Linda Thelwell as Chair for the coming year.
 This was unanimously agreed by all members present. Linda also confirmed a further
 Ex Officio members, Shaun Wilson as District Explorer Scout Commissioner and

- newly appointed Rory Kershaw as District Youth Commissioner. The role of District Scout Network Leader remains vacant.
- 6. Jayne Bell was Elected by Scott Millard as District Secretary, Seconded by Josh Railton. There being no other candidates, was elected unanimously.
- 7. John Jobling was proposed by Linda Thelwell as District Treasurer. Seconded, by Shaun Wilson. There being no other candidates was elected unanimously.
- 8. The following members were approved as nominees to the District Executive Committee. Rachael Macadam, Deputy District Commissioner, Michelle Nobbs, Scout Leader Ferriby Swanland, Neil Begbie, Group Scout Leader Goole, Lucy Carne, District Explorer Leader and Liz Fraser, Group Scout Leader Ferriby and Swanland.
- 9. The following members were Elected, un-opposed, to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year, no vote was required as the correct number of members were elected, there are no new members for the forthcoming year. Jo Cook, Scout Active Support, Pam Bell, GSL Hook, Barbara Simpson, GSL Gilberdyke, Wendy Macadam, District LTM and Beaver Leader and Freddy Preston, Chair of the District Appointment Advisory Committee.
 The following members were Co-opted to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year. Audrey Harris, Local Training Manager, Chris Whiteley and Steve Howarth, Tablers Wood, Joy Milestone, District Appointments Secretary, Josh Railton BBITS and Frank Cook, Scout Active Support.

Proposed: Michelle Nobbs Seconded: Neil Begbie

10. The District Commissioner proposed Rachael Macadam as the District representative to the County Executive Committee.

Proposed: Barbara Simpson Seconded: Scott Millard

11. It was proposed that Alistair Connell be appointed for a further term as District Auditor, John Jobling confirmed that Alistair Connell would be more than happy to be our auditor for another year.

Proposed: Scott Millard. Seconded: Josh Railton

12. The District Commissioner, Linda Thelwell, highlighted various elements of her report which are all fully contained within the circulated Annual report. Linda also welcomed Rory to the role of County Youth Commissioner who was invested at the 'Top Awards Ceremony' earlier in the evening and congratulated Rachel Macadam again for achieving the Chief Scouts Commendation for Good Service, which was also presented at the 'Top Awards Ceremony', Linda also mentioned that this is the first time Linda has ever presented this award to a leader whilst they are still classed as a young person. A letter was read out which had been received by a Scout who had

previously asked for a donation to fund their trip to the world jamboree, the letter thanked the District for there donation and informed us how he is still raising money towards his trip by carrying out 'bob a jobs' around his local area. Linda finished by saying how excited they were to be taking 34 young people to Canada this month and that they would update us at the next AGM on how it went.

13. The following awards were presented:

John Jobling - 30 Year's Service Award

Neil Ingham - Chief Scout Commendation Award

Carol Herdman - 5 Year's Service Award
 Margaret Carey - 10 Year's Service Award
 Paul Daniel - 10 Year's Service Award
 Lawrence Cartledge - 10 Year's Service Award
 Kelvin Breen - 5 Year's Service Award

- 14. The Chairperson of East Riding Council, Ward Councillor Pat Smith gave her thanks for been invited for the second year running and was disappointed that she would not be here next year. She thanked everyone for volunteering and all the hard work they do with the young people.
- 15. In his closing comments the District Chairman endorsed the District Commissioners remarks & added his personal thanks for the extraordinary work undertaken by all within the District in providing an outstanding service to the "youth of the area". He also shared some of his experiences as a 15-year-old when he went to Canada, how he raised money and the fantastic memories that he has, he thanked Linda and the team for using their own time to take the 34 young people to Canada and making it possible for them to make the same memories as he did. He thanked everyone for attending and proposed a vote of thanks to Jo Cook and others for the provision of the refreshments. Likewise, he expressed his grateful thanks to Christian Carver, for his attendance and donating the use of William's Den for tonight's event for the second year running.