

Minutes of the AGM held July 2nd July 2020 Held Via Zoom Call

The meeting opened at 19:00

- 1. Scott Millard, District Chair, opened the meeting and welcomed all those present and thanked them for taking the time to dial in and explained how questions can be asked.
- 2. Recorded apologies for absence were received from Philip Walker Howden, Christina Carver Vic president, Frank Cook, Joe Cook, Doreen Bennett, and Liz Fraser.
- 3. The minutes of 4th July 2019 Annual General Meeting were read; and approved as a correct record.

Proposed: Wendy Macadam Seconded: Richard Ellarby

- 4. The Blacktoft Beacon District Scout Council Annual Report, covering the period 12th July 2019 to 5th July 2020 and the Financial Report for the period ending 31st March 2020, were reviewed, and approved. The Chair thanked John Jobling, Treasurer, for his continued support and "due diligence" in preparing a very informative & "full" set of accounts. Proposed: Lucy Carne Seconded: Michelle Nobbs
- 5. Scott Millard was nominated by Linda Thelwell as Chair for the coming year. This was unanimously agreed by all members present. Linda also confirmed a further 2 Ex Officio members, Shaun Wilson as District Explorer Scout Commissioner and Rory Kershaw as District Youth Commissioner. The role of District Scout Network Leader remains vacant.
- 6. Jayne Bell was Elected by Scott Millard as District Secretary, Seconded by Wendy Macadam.
- 7. John Jobling was proposed by Linda Thelwell as District Treasurer. Seconded, by Richard Ellarby.
- The following members were approved as nominees to the District Executive Committee. Rachael Macadam, Deputy District Commissioner, Michelle Nobbs, Scout Leader Ferriby Swanland, Neil Begbie, Group Scout Leader Goole, Lucy Carne, District Explorer Leader and Liz Fraser, Group Scout Leader Ferriby and Swanland.
- 9. The following members were Elected, un-opposed, to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year, no vote was required as the correct number of members were elected, there are

...2 of 3

no new members for the forthcoming year. Jo Cook, Scout Active Support, Pam Bell, GSL Hook, Barbara Simpson, GSL Gilberdyke, Wendy Macadam, District LTM and Beaver Leader and Freddy Preston, Chair of the District Appointment Advisory Committee.

The following members were Co-opted to serve on the District Executive Committee for the coming year. Chris Whiteley and Steve Howarth, Tablers Wood, Joy Milestone, District Appointments Secretary, Josh Railton BBITS, Amelia Bateman-Young, Network Administrator and Frank Cook, Scout Active Support. Proposed: Michelle Nobbs Seconded: Neil Begbie

- The District Commissioner proposed Rachael Macadam as the District representative to the County Executive Committee.
 Proposed: Wendy Macadam Seconded: Michelle Nobbs
- 11. It was proposed that Alistair Connell be appointed for a further term as District Auditor, John Jobling confirmed that Alistair Connell would be more than happy to be our auditor for another year. Proposed: Scott Millard. Seconded: Lucy Carne
- 12. The District Commissioner, Linda Thelwell, highlighted various elements of her report which are all fully contained within the circulated Annual report. Linda also informed members where they could view the report if they had not already seen a copy online. Linda went on to say what a busy year it had been and how much we had achieved which would not have been possible without our fantastic team of leaders, adult helpers, and executive members. She thanked all our youth members (aged 6 to 25) for joining in and sharing in the fun and adventure which is 'Scouting'. It makes all the hard work made by our adult volunteers worthwhile.

It was our plan to hold the 'top awards celebration event' again tonight before the AGM however due to the pandemic we have had to put this on hold until we can safety return and bring large groups back together. Below are just some of the Blacktoft Beacon Achievements over the last year.

10 Network and Explores from our Canada Expedition in August 2019 gained their Explorer Belts, these are the first ones to be gained in the Blacktoft Beacon District since 2012. They were awarded to.

- Rachael Macadam
- Francesca Rankin
- Rory Kershaw
- Amelia Bateman-Young
- Kira Moran
- Hannah Reed
- Maxwell Morgan
- Thomas Deacon
- Alex Kenny
- Alex Wales

Our annual census return from March 2020 showed the following achievements;

- Top awards as at census 2020
- Chief Scout Bronze 52

...3 of 3

- Chief Scout Silver 64
- Chief Scout Gold 23
- Young Leader Buckle 8
- Platinum 6

And, our annual St Georges Day awards in April 2020 showed the following achievements.

- Debbie Derry Chief Scout Commendation Good Service
- Pete Thane Chief Scout Commendation Good Service
- Stuart Fox Chief Scout Commendation Good Service
- Jill Deacon Chief Scout Commendation Good Service
- Rachael Macadam Chief Scout Commendation Good Service
- Richard Moverley Bar to The Award of Merit
- Paul Wharram Bar to The Award of Merit
- Shaun Wilson Bar to The Award of Merit
- Freddy Preston Bar to The Award of Merit

We promise that we will recognise all these achievements and more in the coming months!

Linda thanked the District leaders and District Executive Committee members for all their help and support they have given and knows will continue to give, whilst face-to-face scouting is on hold. All our volunteers have made sure that our young people sill experience 'Scouting' virtually and still feel part of their colony, park, troop, or unit.

As a District everyone has risen to the challenge of holding meetings via conference call, using a variety of different 'virtual platforms' We have all managed to stay connected and will continue to do so as we move forward towards safely getting back to face-to-face scouting in the future.

Linda gave her personal thanks to Rachael Macadam and Josh Railton for helping with the IT side of things, A HUGE thanks was given to both!!

Linda also took the opportunity to remind all Group Scout Leader and District leaders that there would be a conference call on Monday 6th July where Linda will highlight the latest information and guidance from Headquarters relating to the current pandemic.

13. Scott closed the meeting by giving a massive thanks to Linda, Rachael and the rest of the team along with all of our members and leaders for all their hard work, he also congratulated all the award winners. The meeting closed at 19:50.
